7 Toys And Games From My Childhood

A few nights ago I started to reminisce about my childhood. Here are 7 of the ‘toys’ that made my childhood enjoyable.

1. Pogs

I am so lucky these were free in Walkers crisp packets. I know for a fact my mum wouldn’t have let me buy these, never in a million years! She just didn’t understand! I adored the cartoon images on them! I can vaguely remember the ridged edges; the Tazo logo on the back and cartoon characters plastered on the front. Come on all your favourite cartoon characters in a crisp packet; it didn’t get better than that! Andddd you could flick, flick, flick them all over the place! Memoriesss!

 

2. Yoyo’s

I can do that trick. You know the one where you sort of throw the yoyo towards the floor; then it stalls for a while, then you tease it a little so it meets with your hand again. Ha. I saved long and hard for a yoyo. I walked to the corner shop with a pocket full of pennies (literally)! The shopkeeper didn’t even bother to count all that change and I don’t blame him! It wasn’t your average plastic yoyo, it was supersonic and it even had a light! You know which one I’m on about! I wonder if I have any more tricks up my sleeve…

3. Alien Pods

Ohhh my god! I wanted one of these so badly! I’m pretty sure I was the last person in my year group to have one. I will never forget seeing these weird looking ugly things that looked like they were made out of some sort of sticky jelly substance, sitting in pod covered in slimy goo. Did you guys hear the rumour about the aliens being able to reproduce? Yup, I too fell for it! I’m still here waiting for it happen.

4. Tamagotchi’s

I didn’t have any pets growing up until I owned a Tamagotchi! My own little virtual pet I could take to school with me and keep in my pocket! I felt bad for neglecting it during school hours though! It was so much fun gathering in the playground with my friends showing off our pets… Until it died.. Or the battery died! Times have changed! I am seeing Tamagotchis for £24.99 right now! Yes, you read the price right! I’m pretty sure I could have brought 2 and maybe a half with that money in my days!

tama

5. Pokemon cards

It was hard to miss the sudden craze at school! I didn’t take the time to get the gist of trading Pokemon cards. I watched the cartoon on TV a few times.  I knew I had to get my hands on my own stack one way or another! Pikachoo I’m coming for you! *ninja fly kicks the air*. My dad brought me one pack of Pokemon cards and I ended up with over 100 just like that! Kids at school would give away their unwanted cards and I guess I collected them. I remember the shiny cards being classed as ‘precious’ must-haves for some unknown reason. I wonder if I can sell them on eBay and make a killing. I kid.

d1301-pokemon-set

6. Lucky bags

I recall the yellow lucky bags with the turtle Mr “Dick Turtle” poised on the front; he had this teenage mutant ninja turtles thing going on. They were filled with a whole lot of “lucky air”; a couple of sweeties, a piece of paper (a puzzle of some sort), a few miscellaneous toys and did I mention the lucky air? As a kid it was like a mini Christmas anticipating what treats were inside.

b1456-luckybag

7. LEGGGOO!!

Who doesn’t love Lego? If you don’t love Lego.. Why don’t you love Lego? I have never actually owned Lego *shock horror*. I played with it at school and at my after school club though. I was one of those girls that had dolls galore; Barbie, Cindy, Baby born and tiny tears. No Lego touched my toy box unfortunately. Luckily I was blessed with a little brother! It took a little persuading, but I managed to get him to ask “Santa” for Lego and the fun begun! We made cars, houses, spaceships and more! Every creation was possible with Lego!

d360c-lego

 Image sources 
Dick Turtle lucky bag image- Google images
Alien pod image- http://www.amazon.co.uk
Tamagotchi image- http://www.amazon.co.uk
10 thoughts on “7 Toys And Games From My Childhood

  1. Aaaaah nostalgia at its finest! I used to love every single one of these toys. I remember the rumour “If you put the aliens back to back in the freezer they would have babies” 😦 who ever made that rumour was cruel and insensitive.. Playing with my heartstrings like that 😛

    Like

    • What it is to be young ay! I would love to go back in time. It’s funny how far rumours travel, my younger brother heard the exact same rumour about the aliens lol

      Like

  2. Pingback: 7 Toys/Games From My Childhood | Being Chelle

  3. Those had become popular also here in the Philippines but what I used to play are the pogs and Tamagotchi. 🙂 We had much simpler pleasures back then than kids today!

    Like

  4. Pingback: 8 Reasons Why Being A Kid Rocked! | Being Chelle

  5. Pingback: 7 Toys/Games From My Childhood | Living With No Excuses

Feel free to share your thoughts!

