A Distant Stranger

Imagine you are used to someone’s presence and you can’t imagine life without them. They cross your mind throughout the day, you speak regularly and you enjoy each other’s company. Gradually either of you make an effort to keep in touch. It isn’t a case where you are too busy, something has changed and you can’t put your finger on it. You still care about them and you hope things will be back to normal. Before you know it, the regular contact turns into irregular contact and then it suddenly turns into no contact at all.

Someone from my past came to mind the other morning. It was a dream I had the previous night that triggered my thoughts. I had spent quite some time getting to know this person and we slowly grew apart. We would still talk occasionally, in attempt to hold onto what was already lost. Then reality kicked in after a while and I had to accept that things would never be the same.

"People will forget what you said, people will 
forget what you did, but people will never 
forget the way you made them feel!".

There is so much truth in this quote! Funnily enough I vaguely recall what exactly happened back then, but I can remember exactly how I felt!

How does someone you speak to almost everyday become a distant stranger?

4 thoughts on “A Distant Stranger

  1. This happens a lot to me too, because I make an effort to get to know each new acquaintance/friend as well as possible. I used to feel guilty when I thought about people I no longer contact.

    But eventually I realized people are in our lives for a reason, to do a job, then they move on their own journey, and so do we. That quote is very appropriate. It is more important to be grateful for the amazing people we had in our lives, than lament that they are no longer there.

    I love your new banner by the way!

    Like

Feel free to share your thoughts!

