The Great Escape Part 1

It was a room full of empty desks with no warmth or interacting going on. There was just silence and animosity in the air. It was a place once described as a fun and friendly environment. It definitely wasn’t living up to its expectations and it was only day one. On paper it looked great, it was right up my street. I ignored my first impressions as I was excited about the new chapter in my life. Little did I know that everything would take a 360 degree spin.

1380003_73116413

True colours slowly started to seep through the cracks in the walls. The tense environment became almost unbearable, it was difficult to get up every morning and convince myself everything was okay. Things weren’t adding up, I felt uneasy and I knew something wasn’t right.

The rumours I had heard through the grapevine were starting to make perfect sense. I needed to know where I stood. I confronted the situation and the response was sugar coated, then put aside as I was reassured all was well. I knew it wasn’t, but I smiled and left it at that.

alone

I was back to being trapped in the corner with no clue what was going on in my own surroundings.  The whispering continued and I tried to take everything in my stride. I wanted this so much and I couldn’t even concentrate.

False accusations started to echo in the room. I was genuinely confused as I was doing everything I was asked to do. I bit my tongue when something out of line had been directed at me. I tried to convince myself it would be worth it, I wanted this for so long.  Dishonesty had now replaced the silence in the room. I couldn’t take it anymore, I knew today was the day.

Part Two: http://wp.me/p4xLH1-4X

One thought on “The Great Escape Part 1

  1. Pingback: The Great Escape Part 2 | Living With No Excuses

Feel free to share your thoughts!

