8 Reasons Why Being A Kid Rocked!

I took a little trip down memory lane…This is more or less a childhood vs. adulthood post.

1. Everyone was my friend!

Every single kid in my class was my friend. Every day it was ” My friend Tom, my friend Lisa, my friend …” How did my parents manage to keep up with my crazy lifestyle? My childhood friends and I had our little “He said, she said” sessions, but it was never anything major like the drama that sometimes arises as an adult.

We may have been naive as kids, but some of us were also very forgiving and let things go easily. This is something many adults struggle with. Now I can count all my friends on one hand, just about and not everyone I meet is instantly a friend.

1152328_16239381

2.  “I can’t wait until I grow up”

Be careful what you wish for! When I said I couldn’t wait until to grew up, I didn’t mean it! I’m almost convinced the candles I blew out on one of my birthdays granted this wish. If I blow out the candles on my next birthday reversing this, does this mean I would miraculously become a kid again? The years flew by so quickly, I didn’t realise how easy I had it!

candle

3. Too blessed to be stressed

The only stress I encountered was when I had to decide if I should watch Goosebumps on Fox Kids or Are you afraid of the dark on Nickelodeon! It really was a hard decision to make!

Needless to say, these two shows were  probably the reason why my china doll stayed in the box and didn’t see daylight more than twice in a good 20 years! Now as an adult there are far more worries in the world! I rarely find the time to even watch TV and yes the china doll is still in a box somewhere!

doll

4. Ready, Steady.. I didn’t have to cook!

I didn’t have to cook, well real food anyway. I could whip up a meal in a jiffy and I wouldn’t have to worry about the washing up. Although my mum taught me to cook from a young age; I wasn’t cooking meals by myself until I was at least 10.

playfood

5. What’s love got to do with it?

There was no pressure to be in a relationship as a kid. I had no interest in guys and I didn’t have to wonder if a guy liked me back. A guy in my primary school class once told me he loved me and I was so confused! He kind of received the same reaction any guy would get now if I’m honest!… Something’s never change!

I only had to worry about arranging dates for Barbie and Ken from time to time, to keep the spark alive!

barbie

6.  Sleep is for the weak!

I used to try to avoid going to bed at all costs. I would lay in my bed in broad daylight wondering why I couldn’t stay up late. I was jealous of the kids that were allowed to stay up late.

Now that I think about it, there was no need for me to up late watching TV beyond the watershed period. On special occasions exceptions were made; I could stay up later than usual, often forcing myself to stay wide awake, so I wouldn’t miss out on anything.

If I could go to bed at 8pm every day, I would… I really would!  Sleep? What is sleep? What is a lay in? I have no recollection of either of these! There is so much to do and so little time.

girl

7.  Ohhh, wait a minute Mr.Postman….

I wanted to receive letters so badly as a child. I would ask my mum why no one ever sent me any post and she would warn me of what was to come. Now I see a letters with my name on them, I feel like asking the postman if he’s sure they’re for me!  Bills, bills, bills, don’t really want to pay my telephone bill… but I guess I will! It’s actually such a relief when a letter isn’t addressed to me!

POSTMANPAT

“Postman Pat, Postman Pat, Postman Pat and his black & white cat…”
 

8. Pocket Money

Pocket money is now a pay check, for me anyway! Maybe there are adults out there that still receive pocket money from their parents? If this applies to you, you are very lucky!

You get what you earn when you enter the world of work. Gone are the days when I was given money for looking cute whilst I played with my toys! I wasn’t one of those kids that received money for doing chores; my mum didn’t believe in paying us to do things that needed to be done.

I’m not entirely sure how much pocket I received; I just know that the money would s-t-r-e-t-c-h! I could indulge and enjoy the finer things in life. My lunch money was £2 a day throughout Secondary School.

If I tried to live off £2 a day as an adult, I would struggle and I definitely couldn’t be able to feed my appetite! My mum took care of all of that, now I have my own responsibilities.

1269975_69331015

What did you love about your childhood?

7 thoughts on “8 Reasons Why Being A Kid Rocked!

  1. A relateable post 🙂
    I think one of the things i miss most is how easy it was to make friends. all you had to do was share a crayon or talk about your favorite cartoon and bam! a best bud 🙂
    its sad that people just become a whole lot more complicated and withdrawn as time passes..

    Like

    • It is sad! I bet if I offered someone a crayon now I would get funny looks lol. All is not lost though, I have met some pretty cool people that I have just clicked with.

      Glad you could relate 🙂

      Like

  2. I love this post! Everything you said is true. I sometimes wish I could be young again whenever I’m stressed. Or sometimes I think back of my problems when I was young and realize they’re not so bad at all.

    Like

  3. Pingback: (Sunday) Sweets & Smiles: Legacy | Wax's World

Feel free to share your thoughts!

