My Letter To Fear

I started writing this post a few weeks ago, I was inspired by Anastasia’s post Lightbringer. Have a little read, you will understand the connection… I hope! I found her post thought provoking and I immediately started to think about taking risks and the fear of rejection. I love the ending in particular.

Dear Fear,

For as long as I can remember, you have always tried your hardest to be a part of my life. You were always the unwanted guest that insisted on staying beyond your non-existent welcome. I stupidly let you stay and you admittedly corrupted my thoughts. You would whisper in my ear right before I had plucked up enough courage to take action; implying that it was almost impossible for me to succeed and I believed you!

1078872_44288931 (1)

In the past you made it seem like hearing the word ‘No’ was the worst thing in the world. Instead of encouraging me to go ahead and take risks; you somehow convinced me to take a back seat and watch… Watch possibly the best thing that could ever happen to me, happen to someone else or not happen at all! Unfortunately, I’m now left with a heap of what if’s.

I now realise that there is a 50/50 chance of hearing ‘No’ and a 50/50 chance of hearing ‘Yes’. No one likes being rejected; however rejection is a part of life! I hear the word ‘No’ all the time and it is inevitable that I will hear it again! The same goes for hearing the word ‘Yes’! I’ve learned that I will never know the outcome unless I go for it and who knows I may be pleasantly surprised.

I’ve always told myself that I would never allow anyone to have control over me, then right before my eyes you somehow managed to manipulate my thoughts. I often wonder how life would have been if I hadn’t met you or if I had stood up to you sooner. Your visits are less frequent nowadays, I don’t feel obliged to open the door to you anymore and I’m starting to think that you get the picture.

So Fear, how will you attempt to obstruct my thoughts today? You won’t! I won’t let you interfere anymore, you have caused enough damage! Please understand that you are no longer welcome here.

Yours sincerely,

Chelle

Don’t forget to visit Anastasia’s blog, it is one of my favourites! http://angirach.wordpress.com/

 

20 thoughts on “My Letter To Fear

  1. I’m glad fear don’t come around as often. There is so much to be gained even if the outcome isn’t what you originally imagined!

    So flattered that you enjoy my writing and that I was able to inspire you a bit. That made my month!

    Now tell me you live in NY!! I always meet the coolest people online but they evade me in the every day.

    Like

    • I totally agree with you! Last year I did something so out of my comfort zone, It was a big step for me and in the end it wasn’t even all that bad! I remember mentioning this to you on your Lightbringer post.

      I wish I lived in NY! It’s on my list of places to visit. I have met so many cool people online too which is one of the reasons why I love the internet!

      I’m glad I could make your month :), thanks for inspiring me to write this post! Its weird how reading other blogs can help generate ideas.

      Like

  2. Fantastic work Chelle. I love it! Me being here, is way out of my comfort zone, but here I am anyway. But there are so many other things that should have been out of my comfort zone, that weren’t. Thank you so much for sharing your letter. It’s a powerful message.

    Like

  3. This is great fear is what holds me back a lot and I need to start conquering and fighting it myself! This is truly great writing and what I needed to read today.

    Like

  4. Pingback: Allowing Our Fears….. | Being Chelle

  5. Pingback: 14 Things I Learned in 2014 | Living With No Excuses

Feel free to share your thoughts!

