Do You Really Need Someone?

We all need someone whether we want to admit it or not. I’m sure you can think of a few people you need in your life! I’m talking about in general, but I want to touch on the subject on a personal level! In theory we are all born alone and we die alone. However many of us feel as though we want or need a companion, it’s natural!

I asked my friend if he thought there were people that genuinely wanted to be alone long term and he said ‘Yes’. I’m unable to apprehend why anyone would choose to be alone long term, although it isn’t hard to understand what may have triggered their thoughts which lead to their decision. Surely there must be a part of them that desires some sort of a companionship?

What are your thoughts?

person

6 thoughts on “Do You Really Need Someone?

  1. He’s right. How are we to know just what it is that draws someone to a life of solitude? Perhaps a devotion to God, or something as simple as being completely content with who you are, without the complications of another.
    When we’re young it’s difficult to always know why others do what and why they do. Although if we take some time to learn how the other half lives, then we will grow in understanding.
    Blessings…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wow, thanks for enlightening me! You made a few points I hadn’t considered. It did occur to me that people may want to live a life without the complications of another though. I find this all very intriguing and it is a topic I would love to learn more about.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I truthfully do believe that their are people who may not want to carry on the responsibility of loving or caring for some one else other than them self. That may sound slightly sadistic to say but I feel as though we all desire that deep seated and intimate companionship from another person, but some of us may not be willing to live up to the responsibility of reciprocity where being completely vulnerable with someone else is concerned.

    That’s just my outlook on the topic 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • Now you have me thinking about this from a different perspective Tarah! The point you made relates to those who prefer not to have any children, I’m assuming that they would rather not have that responsibility which is understandable!

      Imagine loving someone and discovering they can’t return the love! In a way they are saving someone else from being disappointed in the long run and I can’t knock anyone for their choices. Each to their own!

      I am definitely starting to see things more clearer now. Thanks so much for your response!

      Liked by 1 person

Feel free to share your thoughts!

