The Sweet ‘n’ Sour Fruit Tale Part 1

Writing 101, Day Twelve: (Virtual) Dark Clouds on the Horizon: Write a post inspired by a real-world conversation.

This conversation took place 5 years ago, it is a true story and I still remember it to this day. We’ll call these two Arnold and Beth. They clicked from day one; Arnold found beauty in the way Beth spoke and Beth felt comfortable in Arnold’s presence. Beth struggled to express how she truly felt, so she hid behind her sarcasm and witty remarks. One day Beth started talking in riddles to display her affection. Arnold didn’t look at her like she was crazy or question her sanity, he riddled with her!

“We need to talk”.

“Okay then let’s talk”.

“There is this fruit and sometimes it can be sweet and on the rare occasion its sour. I don’t know which one I’m getting on a daily basis. I’m uncertain if this fruit is constantly this sweet or if it’s only around me. I don’t know if I should bother with this fruit or if I should throw it away. What do you think?”.

“First you need to ask yourself if this fruit gives you food for thought. If you feel like you are stuck in between the fruit being sweet or sour, maybe you should open the fruit up more and then you’ll get to know it a little better”.

” In a way the fruit does give me food for thought, I wouldn’t bother with it if it didn’t. The fruit is intriguing and I think about it a lot. I’m told I keep my guard up, but if I knew more about the fruit, then the fruit may end up finding out more about me”.

” I think you explained it in the best way. Its the fear of not knowing enough about the fruit apart from the sweet layer that makes you wonder if there is anything beneath this layer. I’m pretty sure the fruit would like to know if there are anymore layers to a particular fruit just as much as you do”.

fruits

Arnold attempted to let Beth know how he felt in the past and she pushed him away. Beth hoped the riddling session would open new doors, however she somehow slipped back into her old ways. Arnold was left in a confused state of mind yet again and the sweet ‘n’ sour fruit tale continued!

7 thoughts on “The Sweet ‘n’ Sour Fruit Tale Part 1

  1. Pingback: The Sweet ‘n’ Sour Fruit Tale Part 2 | Living With No Excuses

Feel free to share your thoughts!

