Simple Cooking: Aubergine Tomato and Feta Rounds

This is a recipe I found on Pinterest. It is a dish my family love and it is perfect for a balanced diet. It can be eaten as a snack or part of a main meal- its your choice!

Ingredients:

1 Whole medium sized aubergine
200g of Feta cheese
6 Salad tomatoes (Any tomatoes will do)
Dried oregano
Olive oil (Optional)

Cooking time: 15 minutes

The Preperation

  • Preheat the oven to 200 degrees
  • Wash the aubergine and tomatoes
  • Chop both the aubergine and tomatoes into rounds
  • Slice the feta into medium slices
  • Place the aubergine rounds on a baking tray
  • Brush with olive oil
  • Layer each aubergine round with a slice of tomato and a slice of feta cheese
  • Sprinkle with oregano

photo 2
*As you can see I used salad tomatoes, however they run out and I had to use baby tomatoes also.

Cooking Method

  • Place the baking tray in the oven for 10-12 minutes
  • Leave to cool for a few minutes and serve

I served my rounds with a prawn stir fry without any sauce or noodles and spinach for the Popeye in me!
photo 5
*There are only 3 rounds on my plate, but I can guarantee I will sneak myself another!

For an alternative recipe check out Chelle’s Zucchini Pizza Boats here

5 thoughts on “Simple Cooking: Aubergine Tomato and Feta Rounds

  1. This looks great! Anything with slightly melted cheese and tomato is a winner with me 😀 I like how simple it is. I need to start a pinterest account to collect all these recipes I’m finding 🙂

    x Michelle 🙂

    Like

    • You are on the same page as me, I love me some melted cheese! Tomato is okay too lol. Pinterest is a great app for recipes, as you will soon discover 🙂

      Like

Feel free to share your thoughts!

