The Wednesday Vegetarian

Writing 101, Day Ten: HappyTell us about your favorite childhood meal — the one that was always a treat, that meant “celebration,” or that comforted you and has deep roots in your memory.

Every Wednesday my Primary School lunch was a ‘Traditional roast’; a slice of turkey, roast potatoes, vegetables and gravy. It was my least favorite meal to be honest!

~A plate full of memories! 
??????????

On Wednesdays I would always be prepared with my game face when approaching the lunch counter. I would walk up to the dinner lady and ask for macaroni and cheese, she would glance down at me and ask if I was a vegetarian. I responded with a convincing ‘Yes’, well today I am I would think to myself and it worked like a charm!

My parents wouldn’t have condoned my slight twist of the truth, but what does a girl have to do to get a slice of her favourite pie? There was more than enough for the vegetarian’s along with fellow mac and cheese lovers like myself! I can’t recall what accompanied the mac and cheese, it could have been served with a pencil eraser for all I know! All I saw on my plate was a heap of creamy heaven…Mac and cheese over my school’s roast any day!

If I could eat mac and cheese every other day I would, but I know its no good for my health! My brother sure does make a mean mac and cheese these days.

~Christmas 2013
xmas2

7 thoughts on “The Wednesday Vegetarian

  1. Now I need it. I love make it homemade when I can. The boxed kind just isn’t the same once you’ve had the real thing. I’ll tell you my least favorite school meal was…I don’t know what they called it but they took a scoop of potato salad and put it on a slice of bologna. I still don’t understand that but I guess schools had to do what they had to do back then.
    Much Respect and Hunger
    Ronovan

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve never tried making the boxed kind. I’m convinced I have tried it at restaurants and I’m pretty sure I can taste the difference. I’ve never heard of bologna topped with potato salad, it sounds like it should be a starter!

      I could do with a slice of mac and cheese right now too 🙂

      Like

Feel free to share your thoughts!